2023 Finalists

We are delighted to reveal the shortlist for the inaugural LGBTQ+ Defence Awards. These finalists were whittled down from more than 250 amazing nominations demonstrating the power of LGBTQ+ inclusivity in defence. The winners were revealed at the LGBTQ+ Defence Awards gala ceremony on 17 October 2023 in London’s Covent Garden. Click here to view the winners.

Advocate of the Year

Cpl Darren Wilson-Kean
, 1st Military Working Dog Regiment, British Army

Cpl Peter Fisher, Defence School of Intelligence

Emlyn Taylor, Lockheed Martin UK

Giles Gibson, MBDA

Marcus Fenlon, MBDA

Paul Kellett, BAE Systems

Rose Worthy, Capita

WO1 Robbie Buglass, Royal Navy


Ally of the Year

Calum Smith

Emma Ellis, Capita

Gp Capt Lisa Mullineux, Royal Air Force

Ian McNeil, Boeing

Jane Fenn, BAE Systems

Luke Bonnett, Frazer-Nash Consultancy

Nick Pett, Ministry of Defence

Rebekah Halton, BAE Systems

SSgt Rhys Davies, Royal School of Military Survey

WO2 Jonjo Blain AGC (RMP), The Mission Ready Training Centre


Armed Forces Leader of the Year

Brig Clare Phillips CBE
, Army Personnel Centre

Col Simon Puxley, Defence Intelligence

Lt Gen Charlie Stickland, Ministry of Defence

Maj Harry Walter, Intelligence Corps, British Army

Maj Stephanie Hayward, Queen Alexandra’s Royal Army Nursing Corps

Surg Cdr Dr Mike Hill, Royal Navy

WO Tracy Barrow, Defence College Of Policing and Guarding


Graduate or Apprentice of the Year

Alisha Kasobya

Benjamin Andrews, BAE Systems

Cfn Josiah Byrom, British Army

Charlie Bennett, BAE Systems 

Freddie Willoughby, BAE Systems

Matthew Shaw, BAE Systems


Innovator of the Year 

Chris Poulton
, BAE Systems

Kaz Self, Rolls-Royce

Lacey Harrison, Serco RAF Fylingdales

Lynn O’Donnell, DSTL

Neil Reeves, Defence College for Military Capability Integration

Neil Sherwin-Peddie, BAE Systems

Roz Taylor, Frazer-Nash Consultancy

Tim Tillett, BAE Systems Digital Intelligence


Inspiration of the Year

Ivy Speight
, Leonardo

Jenna Powell, BAE Systems 

LCpl Eve Wild, British Army Shooting Team

Peter Geering, Frazer-Nash Consultancy

Sgt Sarah O’Connor, Queen Alexandra’s Royal Army Nursing Corps, British Army

Sgt Stuart King, Army Foundation College (Harrogate)

Thomas Lowes, BAE Systems 

WO2 Deborah Penny MBE, The Army Engagement Group, British Army


LGBTQ+ Network or Initiative of the Year

Frazer-Nash Pride & Allies 

L3Harris in Tewkesbury and Fleet PRIDE Employee Resource Group

MOD LGBTQ+ Allies Programme

OutLink, BAE Systems

PrIDA Employee Resource Group, Northrop Grumman

The Leonardo Pride Network


LGBTQ+ Trailblazer of the Year

Adam George
, Lockheed Martin UK

Amélie Beedham, Thales UK

Dougie Morgan, Fighting with Pride

Elaine Chambers, Newport Health Centre

Jo Chambers-Grant, MBDA

Laura Farhall, British Defence Staff Washington DC

Ruben van Schalkwyk, Aon

Sgt Kelly Flynn, Royal Air Force

Toby Watkin-Jones, Amazon Web Services


Outstanding Achiever of the Year

AS1 Amber Sudbury, Royal Air Force
, Joint Service Signal Unit (Digby)

Ben Wilberforce-Ritchie, BAE Systems

Cpl James Flanagan, 7 SCOTS, Royal Regiment of Scotland, British Army

CPO (MAA) Michelle Garrett, Royal Navy Police

Fred Elsey, Lockheed Martin UK

LCpl Amy Cowen, British Army Recruiting Group

Sgt Bethan Garland-Ridding, Army Foundation College (Harrogate)


Rising Star of the Year

AirTpr Liam Cole
, 1 Regiment Army Air Corps, Army Air Corps, British Army

Cfn Riley Morgan, 29 Explosive Ordnance Disposal & Search, British Army

Gareth Sterry, Capita

Kyle Blake, British Army Band Tidworth

Lauren Coulbeck, Ministry of Defence, Devonport Naval Base

Lt Bradley Setchell, Queen Alexandra’s Royal Army Nursing Corps

Lt Charlotte Atkins, Southampton University Officer Training Corps, British Army

Olivia Hake, Northrop Grumman


Role Model of the Year

Capt McLain Carter
, Adjutant General’s Corps, British Army

Cpl Carlea Jane Chant, Royal Army Medical Corps, British Army

Jacks Connor-Fox, Defence Equipment & Support (DE&S)

SSgt Jessica & SSgt Leigh Schofield-Perrett, Intelligence Corps, British Army 

Rebecca Cartwright, BAE Systems

Simone Joachim, ITPAero

SSgt Matt Paget, Intelligence Corps, British Army

WO2 Jon Cox, Army Welfare Service